CMO of the Year 2016: Hans-Christian Schwingen

On the evening of the innovation day 2016, the partners involved, together with the media partners Capital, n-tv, W&V, and for the first time also the Institute for Marketing of the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, presented the award for best Chief Marketing Officer in Germany.

The award was presented in front of around 300 guests as part of a ceremonial gala held in the magnificent Munich Residenz.

Following her laudatory speech, Julia Jäkel, Chief Executive Officer of Gruner + Jahr, presented the “CMO of the Year” award 2016 to Hans-Christian Schwingen, Chief Brand Officer at Deutsche Telekom.

The nominees were (in alphabetical order):

  • Uwe Hellmann (Commerzbank)
  • Ola Källenius (Daimler)
  • Dr. Adalbert Lechner (Lindt)
  • Stefan Magel (Penny)
  • Hans-Christian Schwingen (Deutsche Telekom)

Hans-Christian Schwingen

“I am thoroughly proud to have been selected by this top-class jury as the CMO of the Year, among what are undoubtedly outstanding colleagues. For me, this award confirms our philosophy that we need social connections in particular in order to develop as human beings, and that Telekom provides the means to do this. It also serves to confirm the hard work done by so many people. After all, the credibility of a brand is not just down to those who bear the term on their business card, but each and every individual within the company – in their actions and inactions, in both a professional and private sphere.”

Comments from the jury

“In the jury’s view, Deutsche Telekom has achieved two things: Firstly, it has transformed itself from a sedate state-owned company with outdated structures into a company that is also innovative. Secondly, with the “T” logo it has managed to achieve clear branding across a network of products. Today, Telekom is brand related not only to technology, but also to experience. Hans-Christian Schwingen has made a significant contribution towards this transformation.”

Horst von ButtlarEditor-in-chief of Capital & jury spokesperson

“Whether it be digitisation, involvement in the start-up sector, or a coherent brand image across Europe, not least through establishment of the “T” logo and colour scheme: the jury shares the opinion that, even though it was a difficult period of development for Deutsche Telekom, Hans-Christian Schwingen has contributed significantly towards making the company what it is today – the most valuable telecommunications brand in Europe and in the top-two German brands worldwide, according to several independent brand evaluation companies.”

Thomas LindnerManaging Director of F.A.Z. & jury spokesperson

Impressions of the Award Gala 2016

© innovationstag.de. An initiative of Serviceplan, Mediengruppe RTL Deutschland, F.A.Z., G+J e|MS, Samsung and Antenne Bayern.

CMO of the Year 2016: Hans-Christian Schwingen

Im Anschluss an den Innovationstag 2016 kürten dessen Partner sowie die Medienpartner Capital, n-tv und W&V und erstmals auch das Institut für Marketing der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München den besten Chief Marketing Officer Deutschlands. Die Auszeichnung erfolgte in Anwesenheit von rund 300 Gästen im Zuge einer feierlichen Gala in der prunkvollen Münchner Residenz.

Nach ihrer Laudatio überreichte Julia Jäkel, Chief Executive Officer Gruner + Jahr, den „CMO of the Year“-Award 2016 an Hans-Christian Schwingen, Markenchef der Deutschen Telekom.

Nominiert waren (in alphabetischer Reihenfolge):

  • Uwe Hellmann (Commerzbank)
  • Ola Källenius (Daimler)
  • Dr. Adalbert Lechner (Lindt)
  • Stefan Magel (Penny)
  • Hans-Christian Schwingen (Deutsche Telekom)

Video mit freundlicher Unterstützung von n-tv.

Hans-Christian Schwingen

„Unter zweifellos herausragenden Kollegen zum CMO of the Year gekürt zu werden – und zwar von einer hochkarätig besetzten Jury – macht mich natürlich sehr stolz. Ich sehe in der Auszeichnung eine Bestätigung für unsere Philosophie: Dass wir nämlich soziale Verbindungen brauchen, um uns als Menschen überhaupt entwickeln zu können, und dass die Telekom hierfür die erforderlichen Mittel zur Verfügung stellt. Und sie ist eine Bestätigung für das Zupacken vieler. Denn für die Glaubwürdigkeit einer Marke ist nicht nur derjenige verantwortlich, der diesen Begriff auf seiner Visitenkarte trägt, sondern jeder Einzelne im Unternehmen – in seinem Tun als auch in seinem Unterlassen, beruflich als auch privat.“

Die Stimmen der Jury

Sprecher der Jury waren 2016 Horst von Buttlar, Chefredakteur Capital, und Thomas Lindner, Geschäftsführer F.A.Z. Was die beiden Branchenexperten zur Rolle und Relevanz eines Chief Marketing Officers in der heutigen Zeit sagen, erklären sie hier:

Horst von Buttlar

„Die Deutsche Telekom hat nach Ansicht der Jury zwei Dinge geschafft: Zum einen hat sie sich von einem behäbigen Staatskonzern mit veralteten Strukturen zu einem Unternehmen gewandelt, das auch innovativ ist. Außerdem hat sie in ein Geflecht von Produkten eine klare Markenführung unter dem ‚T‘ gebracht. Die Telekom versteht sich heute nicht nur als Technologie- sondern als Erlebnismarke. An dieser Metamorphose hat Hans-Christian Schwingen maßgeblich Anteil.“

Horst von ButtlarChefredakteur von Capital & Jurysprecher
Thomas Lindner

„Ob Digitalisierung, Engagement im Start-up-Bereich oder europaweites, einheitliches Markenbild nicht zuletzt durch Etablierung des ‚T‘ und Farbgebung: Die Jury ist der Meinung, dass Hans-Christian Schwingen in einer schwierigen Entwicklungszeit für die Deutsche Telekom einen sehr wesentlichen Beitrag geleistet hat, sie zu dem zu machen, was sie heute ist – laut mehrerer unabhängiger Markenbewertungsunternehmen nämlich wertvollste Telekommunikationsmarke Europas und top-zwei-wertvollste deutsche Marke in der Welt.“

Thomas LindnerGeschäftsführer der F.A.Z. & Jurysprecher
© innovationstag.de. Eine Initiative von Serviceplan, IP Deutschland, F.A.Z., G+J e|MS, Samsung und Red Bull Media House.