CMO of the Year 2019: Tarek Müller

The “CMO of the Year” 2019 is fixed: Tarek Müller of ABOUT YOU was honoured with Germany’s highest award for the function of Chief Marketing Officer at a ceremonial gala in Munich. The award was presented by Dr. Jens Thiemer, Head of Customer & Brand Management at BMW, who also delivered the laudatory speech.

Tarek Müller is co-founder, shareholder and managing director of the fashion online shop ABOUT YOU and in his function as Co-CEO is responsible for marketing and brands. Tarek Müller succeeds Dr. Ian Robertson (BMW), Godo Röben (Rügenwalder Mühle), Hans-Christian Schwingen (Deutsche Telekom), Eric Liedtke (Adidas) and 2018 Karsten Kühn (Hornbach) as “CMO of the Year”.

The nominees for the “CMO of the Year” award 2019 were (in alphabetical order):

  • Martell Beck, Berliner Berkehrtsbetriebe
  • Boris Dolkhani, Bosch
  • Julia Goldin, Lego
  • Heiko Klauer, IKEA
  • Claas Meineke, EDEKA
  • Tarek Müller, ABOUT YOU
  • Bernd Rützler, Kärcher
  • Thorsten Scheib, Philip Morris
  • Susan Schramm, McDonald´s
  • Hans-Christian Schwingen, Deutsche Telekom

TAREK MÜLLER, ABOUT YOU GmbH

“It is a great honor for me to receive this special award on behalf of our entire company and our great team. For some time now, we have been pursuing a strategy of breaking new ground in marketing with the aim of making ourselves less dependent on traditional advertising and existing marketing channels and focusing increasingly on direct channels for customer communication. I am really pleased that our work has been recognized with this unique award.”

The Jury’s Verdict

The speaker for the “CMO of the Year” jury is Horst von Buttlar, Capital Editor-in-Chief. The jury member’s explained the reasons for the decision as follows:

“Tarek Müller is a modern and visionary CMO through and through, embodying the spirit of the times both in his leadership style and in his appearance. He is the marketing head behind ABOUT YOU, one of the great German success stories in e-commerce.  As Digital Native he has interlocked all components from the toolbox of modern marketing: from content marketing to strong influencer to event marketing. This innovative approach is a central component of the corporate success of ABOUT YOU”.

Horst von ButtlarCapital Editor-in-Chief and jury spokesperson

© innovationstag.de. An initiative of Serviceplan, Mediengruppe RTL Deutschland, F.A.Z., G+J e|MS, Samsung and SpotCom.

CMO of the Year 2019: Tarek Müller

Der „CMO of the Year“ 2019 steht fest: Tarek Müller von ABOUT YOU wurde  bei einer feierlichen Gala in München mit Deutschlands höchster Auszeichnung für die Funktion des Chief Marketing Officers geehrt. Den Preis überreichte Dr. Jens Thiemer, Leiter Kunde & Markenführung bei BMW, der auch die Laudatio hielt.

Tarek Müller ist Mitgründer, Anteilseigner und Geschäftsführer des Fashion Online Shops ABOUT YOU und verantwortet in seiner Funktion als Co-CEO die Bereiche Marketing und Brands. Tarek Müller folgt als „CMO of the Year“ auf Dr. Ian Robertson (BMW), Godo Röben (Rügenwalder Mühle), Hans-Christian Schwingen (Deutsche Telekom), Eric Liedtke (Adidas) und 2018 Karsten Kühn (Hornbach).

Nominiert waren für den „CMO of the Year“ Award 2019 (in alphabetischer Reihenfolge):

  • Dr. Martell Beck, Berliner Verkehrtsbetriebe
  • Boris Dolkhani, Bosch
  • Julia Goldin, Lego
  • Heiko Klauer, IKEA
  • Claas Meineke, EDEKA
  • Tarek Müller, ABOUT YOU
  • Bernd Rützler, Kärcher
  • Thorsten Scheib, Philip Morris
  • Susan Schramm, McDonald´s
  • Hans-Christian Schwingen, Deutsche Telekom

TAREK MÜLLER, MITGRÜNDER DER ABOUT YOU GmbH

„Es ist für mich eine große Ehre, diesen besonderen Award stellvertretend für unser gesamtes Unternehmen und unser großartiges Team entgegenzunehmen. Wir verfolgen bereits seit längerem im Marketing die Strategie, neue Wege zu gehen, mit dem Ziel, uns von klassischer Werbung und bestehenden Marketingkanälen unabhängiger zu machen und den Fokus zunehmend auf direkte Kanäle zur Kundenkommunikation zu legen. Ich freue mich wirklich sehr, dass unsere Arbeit durch diese einzigartige Auszeichnung gewürdigt wird.“

Die Meinung der Jury

Sprecher der „CMO of the Year“ Jury war in diesem Jahr Horst von Buttlar, Capital-Chefredakteur. Die Argumentation der Juroren für die Entscheidung fasste er wie folgt zusammen:

„Tarek Müller ist ein moderner und visionärer CMO durch und durch, der sowohl in seinem Führungsstil als auch in seinem Auftreten den Zeitgeist verkörpert. Er ist der Marketing-Kopf hinter ABOUT YOU, einer der großen deutschen Erfolgsgeschichten im E-Commerce.  Als Digital Native hat er alle Komponenten aus dem Werkzeugkasten des modernen Marketings verzahnt: Vom Content Marketing über starkes Influencer- bis zu Event-Marketing. Dieser innovative Ansatz ist ein zentraler Baustein des Unternehmenserfolgs von ABOUT YOU.“

Horst von ButtlarCapital-Chefredakteur und Sprecher der "CMO of the Year" Jury